Home Industry News NLBMDA Announces New Leadership Team for 2016-2017

NLBMDA Announces New Leadership Team for 2016-2017

NLBMDA Announces New Leadership Team for 2016-2017
George Lester, NLBMDA's 2016-2017 Chair. (Photo via NLBMDA on Facebook. )
George Lester, NLBMDA's 2016-2017 Chair. (Photo via NLBMDA on Facebook. )
George Lester, NLBMDA’s 2016-2017 Chair. (Photo via NLBMDA on Facebook. )

Charleston, SC — The National Lumber and Building Material Dealers Association (NLBMDA) elected its new leadership team yesterday at the ProDealer Industry Summit in Charleston, SC. At the association’s annual meeting, the NLBMDA Board of Directors elected George Lester as the new Chair of the association. George is Chair and CEO at The Lester Group in Martinsville, Virginia and is replacing outgoing chair Scott Yates, president and general manager at Denver Lumber Company in Denver, Colorado.

“Over the years I have learned that those elected officials in the halls of power are elected by us – they are our employees, and they want to hear what’s happening in the real world, outside the beltway,” Lester said. “There’s going to be compromise – that’s democracy. But if we don’t talk, then they won’t hear us. And it’s our responsibility to raise our voice.”

“To me, I view my biggest goal this year is to help increase membership and to continue to advance the legislative priorities of the LBM Industry,” Lester said. “My goal is to communicate the idea that joining and participating in the NLBMDA through our state and regional associations adds a tremendous amount of value to independent lumber dealers across the nation. I know first-hand because I’ve certainly gotten more out of the NLBMDA through my membership with the Building Material Suppliers Association than I’ve put into it.”

The Lester Group was established in 1896. Today, the group’s LBM division operates four diverse building supply dealers – Lester Lumber in Martinsville; Building Supply of Manassas; Jim Carpenter Company in Fredericksburg; and Taylor Brothers in Lynchburg. Earlier this year, the company acquired the assets of a Masonite door plant, also in Fredericksburg, saving the jobs of all 14 employees of the plant.

“George has been an active NLBMDA member for decades and has a tremendous amount of knowledge and expertise in the LBM industry. He has consistently shown an unwavering commitment and passion to serving others. I am truly honored to have the opportunity to continue to work with George as we are both committed to moving the association forward as he becomes NLBMDA Chair,” said NLBMDA President & CEO Jonathan Paine. “I also want to thank Scott Yates for his time, effort, and the advances we’ve made over the last year to give the association and our members a better foundation as we build on the improving economy around the country.”

In addition to George, the other members of the 2016-2017 NLBMDA Executive Committee are:

– Chair-Elect: Rick Lierz, Franklin Building Supply, Boise, ID
– First Vice Chair: Bob Sanford, Sanford & Hawley Inc., Unionville, CT
– Treasurer: Scott Engquist, Engquist Lumber, Harcourt, IA
– Manufacturers & Services Council Chair: Dena Cordova-Jack, BlueTarp Financial, Portland, ME
– Federated Association Executives Chair: Lynn Schwarz, Building Material Suppliers Association, Charlotte, NC
– Immediate Past Chair: Scott Yates, Denver Lumber Company, Denver, CO
– President & CEO: Jonathan Paine, NLBMDA, Washington, D.C.

Source: NLBMDA